Sakurahime Kaden – Ch. 8 Recap Impressions

00

Wow, I barely lasted two weeks before I broke my Monday blogging promise. *dies* I tried to write up something, I really did… I just, wasn’t really feeling inspired? =/ I’ll try to keep my promise for next monday though. =D

I love how Sakura Hime Kaden always manages to get me to blog here again, even if I loathe this chapter. Seriously WTF. The only saving grace was Enju, and 1 panel of him being hot doesn’t make up for 40 PAGES OF FAIL. (it’s like Ch. 5 over again, but WORSE, SO MUCH WORSE)

But anyhow, let’s talk about the cover. I actually like it a lot, anger issues over this chapter in its entirety put aside. Their sibling-like resemblance emphasized through colour scheme! Yeah, I’m still sticking to that theory. =D

Warning: Spoilers for the whole chapter. Also, the few pics I uploaded are all in full size so depending on your connection they might take a while to load.

This cover is totally convincing me that they’re related somehow.
Pg. 1-3 blabity blah, usual mahou shoujo transformation stuff…
Pg. 4 – The skin cracks on the councillor just looks like he gained more wrinkles all of a sudden, LULZ. Oumi’s was much more intense last chapter.
Pg. 5 – I KNEW THAT HE WAS INVOLVED WITH OUMI’S FAMILY’S DEATH!!! lol, I just thought he sent a demon serpent over, but Arina actually took it a step further and got him to kill off her family PERSONALLY!? oh, the twisted mess, ARINA NEVER CHANGE. ❤
Pg. 7 – Byakuya TOTALLY SHIPS SAKURAXAOBA. Why else would she tell Sakura to cover his mouth? =D
Pg. 8 – Byakuya: Bring forth the water
Kohaku: Erm, how will water stop a poisonous fog that spreads THROUGH THE AIR? Logic!Fail
Byakuya: SILENCE! I am an old lady priestess with all-knowing mystical powers, my word must never be questioned
(The only way I can sit past these worn out all-knowing!priestess/old ladies is to mock them)
Pg. 9 – *headdesks* If you want to ensure that your Aoba doesn’t die, WHY DON’T YOU STOP THE POISONOUS FOG BEING RELEASED BY EVIL!DEMON INSTEAD OF CLINGING TO HIM USELESSLY!? Logic!Fail, Scoreboard: 2
Pg. 10 – Yes, Aoba, she is stupid, and you love her anyways. I swear, as much as I love this couple, sometimes they just don’t make any sense.
Pg. 11 – I love SakuraxKohaku, have I ever mentioned that?
Pg. 12 – … If I see Hayate all bishounen-fied in the next page I may just have to kill myself.
Pg. 13 – *KILLS SELF* ><“
geez there’s even horrid daisy BLOOMING AROUND HIM. I swear, shoujo takes CHEESE to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL.
Pg. 14 – Hmm, again with the full moon thing, DO I SEE A TREND?!
Pg. 15-16 – … Arina just made HayatexKohaku canon. I love you Arina but sometimes you MAKE ME CRY. *hugs SakuraxKohaku ship*
Pg. 20 – … What? How did you only start breathing in the poison just now when all that time you were TALKING TO AOBA?! And, come to think of it, why can Byakuya still breathe? Argh, Logic!Fail Scoreboard: 3
Pg. 23 – … Do I sound twisted if I say that Enju here looks REALLY EPIC?! *.*
Pg. 25 – ENJU IS HER BROTHER, ENJU IS HER BROTHER, I CAN FEEL IT IN MY BOOOONES
Pg. 26 – … I DON’T CARE IF BYAKUYA IS PLAYING THE ALL-KNOWING OLD LADY ROLE, OUMI CAN STILL BE SAVED. *stabs everyone*
Pg. 29 – STOP TALKING ABOUT OUMI LIKE SHE’S ALREADY DEAD, SAKURA.
Pg. 33 – … Euthanasia, in my manga. I HATE THIS SO MUCH A;SLODKFJADL;FJKAD;LFJA;L NO OUMI~ T______T
Pg. 34-35 – NOOOOOOOOOO *CRIES*
Pg. 38 – I feel like this page is mocking me since it’s gorgeous BUT THE WORDS ARE KILLING ME WTF. I can’t believe Arina allowed to be a plot device STILL THE VERY FRIGGIN END. WTF WOMAN WTF.
Pg. 39 – Arina actually made it CANON for a side female character to completely entrust her life to the protagonist!!! ARGH WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW PISSED I AM.

Pg. 2-4 blabity blah, usual mahou shoujo transformation stuff…

skincrackage

Pg. 5 – The skin cracks on the councillor just looks like he gained more wrinkles all of a sudden, LULZ. Oumi’s skin cracking was much more intense IMO.

Pg. 6 – I KNEW THAT HE WAS INVOLVED WITH OUMI’S FAMILY’S DEATH!!! lol, I just thought he sent a demon serpent over, but Arina actually took it a step further and got him to kill off her family PERSONALLY!? oh, the twisted mess, ARINA NEVER CHANGE. ❤

Also? his demon form is butt ugly. Just thought I’d say it. (Not posting up image because its seriously too ugly to be singled out and posted in blog post)

Pg. 8 – Byakuya TOTALLY SHIPS SAKURAXAOBA. Why else would she tell Sakura to cover his mouth? =D

Pg. 9 –

Byakuya: Bring forth the water

Kohaku: Erm, how will water stop a poisonous fog that spreads THROUGH THE AIR? Logic!Fail

Byakuya: SILENCE! I am an old lady priestess with all-knowing mystical powers, my word must never be questioned

(The only way I can sit past these worn out all-knowing!priestess/old ladies is to mock them) anyhow, Logic!Fail, Scoreboard: 1

Pg. 10 – *headdesks* If you want to ensure that your Aoba doesn’t die, WHY DON’T YOU STOP THE POISONOUS FOG BEING RELEASED BY EVIL!DEMON INSTEAD OF CLINGING TO HIM USELESSLY!? Logic!Fail, Scoreboard: 2

Pg. 11 – Yes, Aoba, she is stupid, and you love her anyways. I swear, as much as I love this couple, sometimes they just don’t make any sense. I guess it’s part of its appeal though, lulz.

Pg. 12 – I love SakuraxKohaku, have I ever mentioned that?

Pg. 13 – Argh, the only reason why I tolerated Kohaku’s clumsiness was because she’s shown to be capable despite it! SINCE WHEN DID SHE NEEDED TO BE RESCUED BY BOYS-WHO-USED-TO-BE-FROGS?! I’m so over the stupid clumsy girls who needs a guy to save her from herself troupe. Also, if I see Hayate all bishounen-fied in the next page I may just have to kill myself.

Pg. 14 – *KILLS SELF* ><”

geez there’s even horrid daisies BLOOMING AROUND HIM. I swear, shoujo takes CHEESE to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL. *STABS STABS STABS*

Pg. 15 – Hmm, again with the full moon thing, DO I SEE A TREND?!

Pg. 16-17 – … Arina just made HayatexKohaku canon. I love you Arina but sometimes you MAKE ME CRY. *hugs SakuraxKohaku ship*

Pg. 21 – … What? How did you only start breathing in the poison just now when all that time you were TALKING TO AOBA?! And, come to think of it, why can Byakuya still breathe? Argh, Logic!Fail Scoreboard: 3

enju

Pg. 24 – … Do I sound twisted if I say that Enju here looks REALLY EPIC?! *.*

Pg. 25 – ENJU IS HER BROTHER, ENJU IS HER BROTHER, I CAN FEEL IT IN MY BOOOONES

Pg. 27 – … I DON’T CARE IF BYAKUYA IS PLAYING THE ALL-KNOWING OLD LADY ROLE, OUMI CAN STILL BE SAVED. *stabs everyone*

Pg. 30 – STOP TALKING ABOUT OUMI LIKE SHE’S ALREADY DEAD, SAKURA.

Pg. 34 – … Euthanasia, in my manga. I HATE THIS SO MUCH A;SLODKFJADL;FJKAD;LFJA;L NO OUMI~ T______T

Pg. 35-36 – NOOOOOOOOOO *CRIES*

38

Pg. 39 – I feel like this page is mocking me since it’s gorgeous BUT THE WORDS ARE KILLING ME WTF. I can’t believe Arina allowed her to be a plot device still to THE VERY FRIGGIN END. WTF WOMAN WTF.

Pg. 40 – Arina actually made it CANON for a side female character to completely entrust her life to the protagonist!!! ARGH WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW PISSED I AM.

Concluding Thoughts

Wow, I’m just – I’m so full of rage I don’t even know where to start. (watch, this section is gonna be so long that I’m gonna have to put it under a different page and have multiple subheadings to organize everything) nvm, too pissed to section this off and organize this into coherent form.

Let’s start with the one I’m most pissed about: Oumi.

Total plot device through and through to the very end. As I mentioned various times in my previous recap, I wanted Arina Tanemura to do something more with her than just have her give Sakura angst! issues! to mull and cry over. And I feel like Arina teased us a bit in the previous chapter by giving me hope, and just KILLED it this chapter. What does Oumi’s death serve beyond giving Sakura angst? NOTHING, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I hate it when story creators do this, make up a character so that this side character can serve and further along the main protagonists’s storyline. It’s LAZY and CHEAP PLOT DEVICE TACTICS. I’m seriously unimpressed. She made it all official too with the ending on how Oumi trusts Sakura soooo much and will have “faith” and give her life if need be. WHICH BRINGS ME TO THE NEXT THING THAT PISSES ME OFF: Euthanasia

I have seriously complicated feelings about Euthanasia, the right to die, and all that idealogy in this controversial issue. I already have had very heated and thorny conversations about this issue in Real Life that ran around in circles, and even now I can see no definite stance where I can go “YES this is what I believe is right and I will push for this perspective all the way.” But there is one thing that I’m completely clear about: If someone is close to dying, under no circumstances should you end their life FOR THEM. That is WRONG. I do not care about all those arguments where they say they’re doing this because they’re feeling compassion and want to “end their misery” There is just a fine line you can’t cross and THIS IS ONE OF THOSE THINGS. If you kill someone before it’s their time to die then I don’t care how you justify it THAT WAS MURDER, END OF STORY.

And Sakura? Did exactly that. She murdered Oumi. Not only that, but Arina portrayed this act like some extremely sad yet noble thing Sakura must do, like she was being merciful rather than seeing it for the murder that it was. It’s sickening, appalling, seeing this glorified mercy killing unfold in my fiction. Like Sakura shouldn’t suffer jail time for doing this. Like she’s in the right. And underneath all this glorified, beautified scene, all I see is murder murder murder. And I wish death wasn’t handled so lightly in manga, like our “heroes” and “heroines” who commit such acts shouldn’t suffer for doing the unmentionable just because they’re on the “good side” BULLSHIT.

Also Hayate, for messing with my ship and for the corny lines and the daisies blooming in the full moon and the bishounen-fication. THE CHEESE, I’M CHOKING ON IT. Also, now Kohaku suddenly needs Hayate to rescue her?!?!? WTF. Excuse me while I vigorously plan out a SakuraxKohaku fic to erase those terrible moments out of my mind.

Also, the Logic!Fail in this whole entire frickin’ chapter. SAKURA, AOBA CAN LEARN TO COVER HIS MOUTH ON HIS OWN, HE’S A BIG BOY NOW. If she just CUT DOWN THE FRIGGIN SNAKE SOONER I WOULDN’T HAVE HAD TO SUFFER THROUGH THE HAYATEXKOHAKU MOMENT OF CORNIEST WITH MY POOR BLEEDING EYES. *stabs stabs stabs* And how does the stupid snake not strike for the kill after he lets out that poisonous fog thing in the air? What was he waiting for, an invitation?! And the fact that Byakuya can still shout out her orders while the fog was all around. And how Sakura was spewing her love confession without getting poisoned once but in the next panel she just opens her mouth and BAM homg she’s feeling faint from the poison!? Actually, everything about the fog just didn’t make any frickin’ sense. I swear, that part was just written in so Byakuya could send Kohaku and Hayate off for their quality time together. (She’s such a SHIPPER, I swear) Which of course, pisses me off even more. I was so happy when Enju killed of snake councillor dude. That guy was just way too stupid to live. In fact, Enju was the ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS CHAPTER. The ONLY THING. And he didn’t appear NEARLY enough to make up for this chapter of FAIL FAIL FAIL.

gratuitous

Gratuitous Enju!pic because I can.

Bah, must now go and cry in a corner over this terrible chapter and write Oumi fic and SakuraxKohaku fic to console myself.

(lol, unlike last time after Ch. 5, I am not considering dropping the series recap. Still upset, yes, but I’m already pretty much invested in this fandom and series to quit it now.)

Scans by Chiibi

16 Responses to “Sakurahime Kaden – Ch. 8 Recap Impressions”


  1. 1 kelakagandy July 25, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I never really thought about the fact that it really was a case of euthanasia, but it totally is…and I can’t say that I really approve either. When I was reading it, I was kind of like, wait, what good does killing her do? But I didn’t really think anything past that (lol, I’m shallow like that).

    I completely agree that Kohaku really didn’t need Hayate to help her (it does make her seem like a silly girl who can’t handle herself), but I love Hayate’s cheesy-ness (*shot*). xD

    I’ve kind of just come to expect logic!fail in shojo…I mean, it is intended for like 9-13 year-olds (which I at least am about 10 years above). xD

    “And how does the stupid snake not strike for the kill after he lets out that poisonous fog thing in the air?”
    -lol, just another classic case of baddies waiting on the hero/heroine (ie, maho shojo transformations where evil has to wait until *after* the transformation to attack).

    • 2 wingstodust July 25, 2009 at 12:35 pm

      lol, people are always telling me i read too much into the implicit meaning of my shows/books and I should just stop my brain from thinking and enjoy myself… But w/e it’s the way I read my stuff and even though I switched majors, all the Eng Lit analysis classes started taking hold of my brain after a while, lulz.

      I mean, I like cheese to a certain degree too, why else would I read shoujo? But I just wish the cheesiness didn’t come about through a RESCUING THE GIRL FROM HERSELF SCENE. x.x

      Ah yes, logic!fail is pretty abundant in shoujo so true. thing is, I usually read those high school! shoujo stuff and not so much of the mahou shoujo thing. (Honestly, Arina Tanemura’s the only one who writes mahou shoujo manga I can actually stand reading beyond one chapter) I just find that logic!fail when their lives aren’t at stake a whole lot more tolerable than seeing impossible events unfold with the protagonist is supposed to be CLOSE TO DEATH. x.x And even if it’s intended for a young audience, I still don’t care much for logic!fail. It’s really just lazy plotting and lazy writing, and I don’t think story creators should be lazy just because they know their target audience is young. It’s just looking down on the people you write for, you know? But yeah, just my take on it.^^

      • 3 kelakagandy July 25, 2009 at 6:13 pm

        ahahaha. I understand, school will do that to you.

        True, it wasn’t really the perfect time for the cheesiness, but…I still like it. xD

        I totally understand your opinion on the logic!fail, and it is rather lazy. :]

  2. 4 Chiibi July 25, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    *sighs* I’m annoyed….I won’t lie about this.

    1. You need to calm down and remember it’s a freakin manga. Maybe it wasn’t the most logical chapter ever but logic is rarely EVER on my mind when I read manga. And maybe the mist from the water is supposed to weaken the fumes of the poison? First aid says that water dilutes poison….so that makes sense to me.

    2. Sorry but Sakura and Kohaku are not gay yuri-yuri for each other nor have they ever shown signs of it. Please accept that they are just friends. Okay? They’re FRIENDS. Ugh it bugs me so much how everyone will take friendships between the same sex and scream “OMG THEY’RE GAY!!!!! SO GAY!! YAOI/YURI IS SO HOT YAY!!”
    WHAT IS IT WITH YOU GUYS!? WHY DOES EVERY SINGLE FREAKIN FRIENDSHIP HAVE TO BE GAY FORBIDDEN ROMANTIC LOVE!??11
    Lame……besides, HayatexKohaku is ADORKABLE….and don’t you know that childhood friends cannot ever be just friends but one has to be head-over-heels for the other? It’s an unwritten animanga RULE, you see. XD

    3. *smacks forehead* The “stupid snake” didn’t strike to kill Aoba because he was using Aoba as BLACKMAIL to bring Sakura to Enju. He gave her two choices: 1.Cooperate with us and Aoba will live or 2. Don’t cooperate and he dies.
    With Aoba immediately dead, what would they have left to lure Sakura with? If they use a slower means to kill him, they probably thought Sakura would change her mind in that time and come to them. Seriously, dear, try to use your brain a bit more before ranting about that one?

    4. *smacks forehead again* Byakuya can breathe because she’s IN A BARRIER.

    5. Kohaku didn’t NEED to be saved. Hayate just wanted to show off for her. Besides, you who is so big on logic….how could a young girl as small as Kohaku possibly break that huge rock by herself? In a very limited amount of time at that? They needed another person! A better question would be what the hell is Byakuya doing and why isn’t she helping Kohaku with the water? XD

    6. What’s better? Letting Oumi slowly burn to death wailing in pain or ending it quickly in one blow? The first one seems much more cruel to me….It was totally a lose-lose situation.

    • 5 wingstodust July 26, 2009 at 12:45 am

      1. Perhaps that’s how you read manga, but that isn’t how I read manga. I like consistency in what I read, and I’m not going to avoid commenting on mediocrity in storytelling just because it’s “manga”. Also, yes I know water dilutes poison but that seems like just an excuse to handwave how poorly constructed the idea of the poisonous fog was. It was a poisonous fog, airborne toxic, and unless Byakuya makes it rain all over (which she didn’t) that thinking doesn’t fly.

      2. Um, look, I do this thing called fanon shipping. If I think two characters have chemistry with one another, even if it isn’t an official couple in the story I will ship it. This includes shipping two people of the same sex. And I’m assuming you’re speaking from the point of view that you believe I ship anyone who’s from the same gender and all I can say is that you’re wrong. I ship them because I think they have chemistry with one another, period. Please don’t make assumptions/generalizations on what I ship due to my shipping a gay/lesbian couple in fiction. If you only like to ship official couples that are of the heterosexual nature, suit yourself, but don’t judge or look down on me for thinking differently. Common curtesy, ya know?
      If you like HayatexKohaku, so be it. I’m glad you found a ship you like. And yes, I’m aware of the childhood friends turned lovers troupe in shoujo manga. Usually I like that kind of romance as well, but not when they pull it in with a rescuing girl from herself troupe at the same time. And just because a couple is official doesn’t mean I have to like it. And vice versa, just because my ship is never gonna be canon doesn’t mean I’ll stop shipping it.

      3. If you looked back at what I wrote, what I was annoyed about with the snake was that he didn’t attempt to do anything about Sakura, or go after her at all. Instead he just stood by and waited for Sakura and the gang to come around for a counter attack. Perhaps my use of the word “kill” was misleading, it was a figure of speech I used to basically complain about why was he just standing there and not doing anything. Also, using Aoba to lure Sakura is not the most efficient of tactics strategically, but that’s a whole other debate that I won’t get into right now.

      4. I’ll admit, I missed the barrier part. But then that begs the question of why Byakuya didn’t just throw up a barrier for everyone else, or just made herself more useful to this whole ambush since she has all these poooowers that make her immune to everything.

      5. I think we have very different interpretations of what happened when Hayate grabbed for her when the rocks fell. I personally saw it as just a typical moment where girl trips just so that the boy could catch her and have a ~*moment*~. A moment that was completely unnecessary, since, if we go with your question and say that we all know that a small girl like Kohaku wouldn’t have the strength to break the rock, she could have just gotten Hayate to do it, since it’s all the ~*night of full moon*~ et all. And I’m not gonna buy the whole “Oh it just turned nighttime THEN”, because that is SUCH a cop out, whatever excuse must be invented so that they can squeeze in that moment of cheese. Of course, your question on whatever the hell byakuya was doing at that time is another thing to consider.

      6. See, this is a point raised in Euthanasia debates that I cannot stomach. It was still murder, no matter how you put it. And Arina didn’t HAVE to have Oumi slowly burn to death. She could have just as easily let her die from the fall off the cliff if death was what she planned in the first place. But no, she made it in such a way that Oumi must die a painful death while at the same time having another character around with the power to kill her off, just so we can see Sakura have her moment of angst and inner turmoil at the expense of a character who’s going to die anyways. Needless to say, I hated that. I don’t believe any character deserves to be fridged, or, in other words, to be killed off for the sake of some more important character in the story. It’s a story convention that I loathe to the extreme.

      I’d like to say before I end this comment that I’m sorry that this post annoyed you. Obviously I’m not writing this blog post to offend anyone. I’m writing here to voice out my thoughts and impressions, nothing more, nothing less. Also, it’s obvious that we share different opinions on shipping, and while I’m cool with differences, I’ll have to ask you to not insult yaoi/yuri ships from henceforth. I’m not asking you to like them. I’m just asking you to not treat these shipping tendencies as something abnormal here in this blog. This blog, as I’ve stated in the pages section of About the Blog and I, is Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender friendly. You may dislike yaoi/yuri ships all you want, but I happen to welcome people who do in fact ship yaoi/yuri ships as well, and your words are potentially hurtful to those who do ship yaoi/yuri and come to this site. Respect is all I ask. =D

      • 6 Chiibi July 26, 2009 at 4:23 am

        1. Now that I think about it, it’s rather silly to argue about the poison fog because, obviously neither of us has had any experience with demonic poison fog. Bringing logic to how to get rid of demonic poison fog seems kinda pointless…..

        2. I don’t dislike yaoi/yuri ships-in fact I have a few. Very LITTLE few…because most are so poorly done but there are a couple good ones. I don’t like ones that are really random….or take one day to develop nor do I like ones that are totally out of place or have absolutely no hints on either side. I don’t see any chemistry between Sakura OR Kohaku…I just don’t. There’s no heart-pounding moments or sexual tension or anything like that when they’re together. In Shinshi Doumei Cross it was quite easy to see that Ushio lusted after Haine and wanted to be more than friends with her. In KKJ, it’s clear that Silk is infatuated with Noin…hugging him, making him cookies and getting jealous of Maron. But this isn’t the case for SHK…because neither Sakura OR Kohaku show romantic affection for each other and it just kinda bugs me when others will take one scene of friendship gestures and immediately ship it as romance.But do share which moment struck you as chemistry and I’ll give you my opinion on it?

        3. I figured he was giving her time to make up her mind?

        4. Maybe she can only do it a short distance? I dunno. XD

        5. I think it’s been nighttime since the last chapter…o_o Nighttime in manga can be hard to define….especially in ARINA manga…but I remember in ch. 7 Sakura and Oumi talking about how the moonlight illuminated the flowers and how purdy it looked. XD
        If you prefer the yuri ship to the straight ship in this case, that’s fine…but your rant and “stab stab” talk about HayatexKohaku…I’m sorry but I found it silly. Afterall, this is a Ribon shoujo manga…yuri does not have a home here. Even USHIO turned straight. (Which I hated btw…so random and wtf she was CLEARLY yuri-crazy lol) But reading your comments on how upset you were that HxK was canon…I found myself saying, “…….seriously? What was she expecting!?” In Ushio’s case, I of course knew she wouldn’t end up with Haine but figured she’d just stay in unrequited yuri love instead of wanting to marry Senri overnight. >_> ARINAAAAAAAA!! Why do you have to pair up EVERYONE!? lolz

        6. Euthanasia’s a tricky subject….and I’m not saying that it was the RIGHT thing to do….because in this case, it’s clear that letting her slowly die or killing her…neither one is RIGHT…and letting someone die without even trying to do anything about it could be called murder as well. I guess the right thing to do would have been putting out the fire so she didn’t burn…but she was already badly injured…you saw how her eye was coming out too? XD (that was gross!!) Plot devices…I can take or leave. Maybe I’d have been more upset if I cared about Oumi more. But I found it kinda hard to grow attached to her minor character and care that she was only a plot device. I do not see that her only purpose was to die….but to help Sakura see that she never really lost her friend and give her confidence in herself. She will certainly be stronger now because of this.

  3. 7 FuyuMaiden July 26, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Um…I don’t mean to sound pesky, but you called the chapter “fail” but it obviously brought out very strong emotions in you. Like the whole idea of if what Sakura did was wrong or right. You obviously thought it was wrong and that’s fine. It’s good actually.

    I don’t feel one way or the other personally on the “euthanasia” thing in this chapter, due to it being fiction and also taking place 1000 years in the past. The characters all would have grown up knowing different morals. And death would be much more common in that time period. Heck, it’s Japan so at some point (not sure if it was before or after the Heian era) “ritual suicide” will exist to simply preserve “honor”.

    But anyway, good stories provoke a strong reaction. Both negatively and positively. As an example, I hated Catcher in the Rye because I thought Holden was an idiot. But it was a really good book just the same and I can recognize it.

    I guess you could complain that Oumi dying wasn’t really given that much spotlight, so Arina Tanemura didn’t mean to provoke such a reaction. But I still think that for the tone of the series, it wasn’t out of place. So saying it was poorly written would be odd. It just wasn’t…nice.

    As far as Oumi being a plot-device. All I can say is it happens. I never really found this a real character-driven series anyway. Not at all like Shinshi Doumei Cross. It all seems like it’s about the story to me, and that story is about Sakura.

    Oh and I won’t touch shipping. I don’t ship in this series. I just read this one for the story. And for dramatic turns with some mild foreshadowing, I think Arina-sensei is doing a good job. Story-wise, it’s actually one of her better series, even if I don’t really care for many of the characters. There are still obvious flaws, but you know…shoujo manga and all. It’s an old excuse, but when it’s a series in Ribon, I think it’s a legitimate excuse for the smaller stuff.

    • 8 wingstodust July 26, 2009 at 1:27 am

      lol! You don’t sound pesky at all, don’t even worry about it! =D Now that I’m reading back my recap, by calling this chapter a fail I may be giving off the impression that I hate this series, which was not what I intended AT ALL T_T. I mean, Arina Tanemura wrote KKJ, the first shoujo manga I fell utterly and completely in love with. And I’m doing like, chapterly recaps of this series, something I would never do for a series I don’t care about. But I’m in the habit of rambling a lot and react instinctively to fandoms I love, hence when I’m disappointed by something in my fandom series, I react really strongly. But yes, the point is that I do love this series quite a bit (despite disappointments) and I can only hope that I won’t be misunderstood too much by my strong reactions I let out in this blog post.

      You know, I haven’t actually thought about how the conception of death is perceived during the Heian period when I made my case on the Euthanasia bit, but still, even considering this perspective I still think what Sakura did was wrong. =/

      Oh yes, I totally agree! I do indeed find SHK a strong story, and of course I consider it a good story as well, with its flaws et all. It doesn’t stop me from feeling disappointed with this chapter, unfortunately, but I do love this series enough to stick to it to the end, bitter or sweet may that path be. ^^;

      I do realize what Arina Tanemura was trying to go for, with Oumi’s death, if I must be objective about it. And her death was pretty well sequenced out, with the betrayal and the forgiveness and the backstory in order to make it a compelling arc in SHK, so to speak. But, I guess another way to put it on why Oumi’s death bothers me so much is that I felt like this character was created to die. And I can’t help but feel upset about that.

      Yes, characters being a plot device happens quite often, but I never liked it when it does happen. As I made it quite obvious with my reactions to Oumi, lol.

      Oh yes, I do admit the story is really quite something in SHK. It’s very dramatic and action-packed with strong doses of emotional moments, something I missed terribly since TSK and KKJ days, I must admit. Of course, with the whole having to produce one chapter a month and the way the manga industry works, flaws are bound to happen in manga, but I think in spite of these factors manga series aren’t above critique and voicing out of discontent emotions. And hey, what better place to rant about a manga series than your own blog, right? xD;; lulz

  4. 9 Sapphire Pyro July 26, 2009 at 5:05 am

    ENJU!!!!!!!! SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!

    I COULD FEEL THAT HE’S HER BROTHER AS WELL!!!! xD

    HE HAS TO BE!!!!!!!!!!

    anywayz, I don’t want to think about euthanasia . . . in a real life perspective . . .

    but this euthanasia in manga . . . . .

    I PREFER THAT OUMI HAD LIVED EVEN AS A MONSTER SINCE SAKURA IS A MONSTER HERSELF ANYWAYZ

    AND SAKURA SHOULD DIE INSTEAD!!! OUMI WAS JUST USED FOR HER TO HAVE SOME ANGST DRAMA! FREAKIN’ ANNOYING!!!!!!!!!

    And I’m not a huge fan of clumsy girls =_= so I don’t think I’ll be happy with Kohaku in this chapter.

    I’m pretty certain that this chapter will bring me headaches but . . . Aoba and Enju . . . please make up for it *_*

    • 10 wingstodust July 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm

      I KNOWWW, HE’S THE BROTHER, HE’S THE BROTHER~
      ALSO, ENJU TOTALLY HAS TO MAKE MORE APPEARANCES JUST SO WE CAN SQUEE OVER HIM

      LOL fair enough, I always found Euthanasia hard to discuss when given IRL situations. ToT

      oh, you and your dislike of female characters, lulz. xD *shakes head at you*

      homg, btw, you bringing up the whole monster thing reminds me… How Arina is showing the whole demons thing is REALLY BOTHERING ME. Why is it that, excluding Enju (but who will most likely prove To Be Good in the future), the humanoid ones are “good”, and that ALL the animal, monster looking-like ones are EVIL EVIL EVIL and must die!?!?!? Natsume Yuujinchou handled the demon appearances MUCH MUCH BETTER. *hearts natsume*

      Yeah Oumi was used for Sakura to have angst drama TILL THE VERY END, ARGH. =.= however, i’m gonna direct my rage solely on Arina Tanemura’s shoulders. She didn’t HAVE to tell the story like that, but she choose to anyhow. =.=

      Yeah, you know, I actually liked how Kohaku was depicted as capable even though she can be clumsy. I find that that’s really rare in the shoujo manga realm. But then Arina Tanemura threw in BOY MUST RESCUE HER FROM HERSELF thing and I wanted to CRY. =.=

      Unfortunately Aoba didn’t make many appearances in this chapter, but Enju was very, very fine in this chapter, hence my gratuitous pics of him littered all over this post. =D =D

  5. 11 wingstodust July 26, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    @ Chiibi,

    2. If you don’t mind too terribly I’d rather not share the scenes and reasons why I like SakuraxKohaku. Perhaps you don’t mean it as such, but I’m starting to feel pressured by you to have to prove why I like a certain same-sex ship, just because it’s a yuri ship. I do not like feeling that I must defend a ship solely because it’s not of a heterosexual nature, and hence not the “default”. Perhaps one day I’ll make a post on all the ships I love in SHK and have pics and long rambly explanations to show why I love them, etc, etc, but these explanations of my ships will be under my own terms, and not forced out of me to defend them for such reasons.
    Of course, if you didn’t actually meant it like that I’m sorry for misinterpreting your words. Tone can be so hard to gauge online. ^^;

    5. Woah, I totally didn’t remember the nighttime thing in Ch. 7. lol, I know it’s a generally good idea to at least skim over the last chapter before jumping straight to reading the newest release since heyyy, monthly releases, things get forgotten within the span of 30 days. But I guess I’m too impatient and usually just jump into the chapter. =/ Still, it was all very convenient ~*night of full moon*~ all of a sudden. It kinda reminds me of how convenient it was that it was a ~*night of the full moon*~ the day Sakura ran off in Ch. 1. In that case, I was mostly just bemused but didn’t let it bother me too much since I liked most of what happened in Ch. 1. But that is obviously not the case with this chapter.
    Have you never not liked an official couple ever? (I’m asking this in jest.) I knew HxK was likely gonna turn out canon, but I don’t have to like it, hence my comments. If you’re arguing that since it’s from Ribon, and “yuri doesn’t have a home [t]here”, I’ll accept that perhaps Ribon may not be yuri-friendly in the series they produce, since you may have read more Ribon series than I have and a better gauge of that. But I have seen shoujo manga that had yuri couples or lesbians in it, and yaoi couples or gays as well, and regardless of the likelyhood of whether or not a yuri or yaoi couple will happen canonically in any genre of manga, I may choose to ship it anyhow.
    I will not touch on SDC and Ushio, since I gave up on SDC after a while, I will admit. And while I know it happens a lot – when they have a character who likes someone of the same sex but then “make them straight” in the end – but I’m not fond of it and will continue being upset about it when I see that kind of thing happen. (btw, I’m referring to my being upset when I heard Ushio “turned straight”, in case I’m not making myself clear here.)

    6. …I feel like we’re talking in circles here. I guess with Euthanasia subject we’re just gonna have to close it with that I see it as murder and you do not feel the same, and disagree on what constitutes as murder, etc. Now, as for Oumi-as-plot-device, how I’m understanding this is that because you didn’t care for Oumi, her role as plot device did not bother you. Btw, I see her role as helping Sakura show that she hasn’t lost a friend, etc, as part of the whole package of what makes her a plot device (to get her to do things just to further along Sakura’s character development.) As I’ve said before, I hate seeing characters being so blatantly used as plot devices and having them solely exist to help out another character until the creator kills them off when they stop being useful. But this is just my take on it, I fully understand that there are people who do not mind this character-as-plot-device convention.

  6. 12 Chiibi July 26, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    2. No, I didn’t mean to make you feel pressured. I was just curious and wondering what first made you start shipping them…like was there a certain scene they had that left an impression on you?

    5. “Have you never not liked an official couple ever?”

    MANY MANY TIMES. XD IchigoxMasaya, RanmaxAkane, ChikanexHimeko, YuukixKaname, KoutaxYuuka….just to name a few…all these ships that are as canon as canon can be…..I have extreme hatred for….usually because I hate one of the characters or how the ship was formed…or think they’re a bad match, etc. It happens more in shounen series though. Usually…USUALLY the typical shoujo couple is to my taste and I get what I want in the end….so there’s certainly more love than hatred but….but….OMG F**KING TOKYO MEW MEW…..*STABBITY-STAB* lol

    “I’ll accept that perhaps Ribon may not be yuri-friendly in the series they produce, since you may have read more Ribon series than I have and a better gauge of that.”

    This is definitely true. Since I bought Ribon back when Full Moon was running and now have picked it up again, I’ve always taken a look at the other stories in it after the Arinacchi goodness. Oddly enough, the “other” little girl’s mag, Nakayoshi doesn’t seem to mind yuri/yaoi HALF as much….being the home of Card Captor Sakura and let’s not forget infamous Sailormoon who introduced one of the most lived-long and well-known canon yuri ships as well: HarukaxMichiru (whom I fully support!)

    “I will not touch on SDC and Ushio, since I gave up on SDC after a while, I will admit.”

    Good thing. SDC was fail. It really was. =_= Least fave Arina work atm. *sigh*

    “And while I know it happens a lot – when they have a character who likes someone of the same sex but then “make them straight” in the end – but I’m not fond of it and will continue being upset about it when I see that kind of thing happen.”

    I DO really really hate this. XD It’s stupid….imho, the character in question should be left alone and not randomly paired up with someone who was their total opposite taste three pages ago.

    “…I feel like we’re talking in circles here. I guess with Euthanasia subject we’re just gonna have to close it with that I see it as murder and you do not feel the same, and disagree on what constitutes as murder, etc.”

    *blinks* But….but you did see where I wrote that I agreed it’s not right EITHER…..right?

    • 13 wingstodust July 27, 2009 at 12:50 am

      2. I will accept that your intentions are not to make me feel pressured, but I’m afraid I’m going to refrain from sharing the reasons why I like SxK all the same. I still do not feel comfortable doing so atm, but when I’m feeling up to it, we can discuss then? =D

      5. Oh man, bringing up RanmaxAkane just reminds me of how PAINFUL Ranma 1/2 was, reading experience-wise. I cannot handle the way Rumiko Takahashi tells her stories, for srly. x.x (no offense if you like her works though. it’s just that her storytelling and execution of plot is not to my taste at all.)

      homg, Nakayoshi is the mag that gave us ARISA, right!? I LOVE THAT SERIES. /random

      Yeah, I’m not a fan of when mangakas pair up all the cast just because they want everyone to be together in order to have a “happy ending” (Arina Tanemura is so guilty of this *sighs*) I mean, it’s nice when couples end up together, but by insisting on having Every! Single! Person! paired up gives this impression that a happy ending cannot be achieved unless everyone is ~*in love*~ and married off or w/e. Which I disagree with, since I don’t believe that just because someone is single means that they’re unhappy, etc. However, I’d also like to see more homosexual characters in fiction not randomly “fixed” to be “made straight” not just because I don’t want them to be randomly paired off, but also because it gives an impression that you can’t be happy being in a relationship with someone who is of the same gender as the character in question. But I suppose that is a whole other discussion, lol.

      But….but you did see where I wrote that I agreed it’s not right EITHER…..right?

      lol yes. See, I was typing my response about how letting someone die when it is made to be an inevitable death doesn’t constitute as murder in my eyes, but then I started to realize that this is starting to get waaaaay off track and discussing what is considered murder and what is not seemed rather moot, and I really couldn’t see how the whole vein of discussion could be going anywhere. I thought it’d be wisest to just drop the topic there so I just backtracked and deleted that response. But I suppose if you think we can be getting somewhere with this vein of discussion I’m open to debating it upon request, lol.

  7. 14 Chiibi July 27, 2009 at 4:10 am

    2. Okay. :3

    5. Akane’s such a bitch. I can’t stand her and every girl like her. XD; Rumiko…..gah she’s either too short or too long. I just found out about her new series…haven’t started reading it yet. One thing I’ll give her though, she’s pretty good at making me laugh out loud….

    Hurhurhur yes, it bugs me too. I’m writing a series where the heroine’s best (girl) friend has a crush on her, the heroine (who is straight) gets with her first and only boyfriend, they get married, have a daughter, and her friend STAYS in UNREQUITED LOVE FOREVER, while wishing the two happiness. ……actually it’s kinda her fault because she’s FAR too tsun-tsun and embarrassed to admit she loves another girl…lmao…
    And she’s perfectly fine by herself. She doesn’t get paired up with anyone but that’s how she wants it! Hurhur. I love it. Hurhur…. XD

    • 15 wingstodust July 27, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      5. lol I personally don’t like her new series. It makes me think of a genderswapped version of Bleach and let’s just say that I’m throughly sick of anything Bleach-like. x.x But hey, I’ve seen quite a few positive reviews going around, so I’m sure it has its appeal or good points… deep deep down.

      Interesting! I wish you the best of luck in writing that! =D

  8. 16 Lamby-chan August 1, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Now thatyou’ve said cheese so foten you’ve made me hungry XD

    all i really care is that the illustartion/cover is beautifulla nd that the guy looks smexy in the 5th pic. Demon lords are always most of the time smexy, take a look at Suabru from “watashi no ookami-san” and you shall see XD


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


