Summer Anime 2009 – Watchlist & First Impressions

Bakeanime

You know, I don’t know why people are complaining about this Summer having a lot of “crappy” anime. I mean, this wasn’t any worse or better than the last 2 seasons. In fact, there’s actually MORE shows that I’m interested in watching this season than before. It’s been a long time since I felt inclined to follow on a weekly basis more than 2 series in one season.

Then again, this season is full of female-centric anime, and y’all should know that I love my girls, lulz.

Okay, so this post is gonna be divided into three major categories: 1) Definitely Following 2) Checking Out and 3) DROPPED for it makes my eyes bleed

Warning: I’m not particularly nice when it comes to anime shows I don’t like. ^^;

DEFINITELY FOLLOWING

bakemonogatari

Bakemonogatari

al;skdjfa; SO MUCH LOVE LIKE WOAH. The visuals are stunning, the cast is crazy and awesome, and I’m actually thinking of making recap posts for each episode of this entire amazing, unbelievable series. Because I have so much I want to say on the art and the graphics and the characters in this show, and it can’t be satisfied through this Impressions post. Yes, I do realize that there are like, a million people who don’t rely on subs to get out their Recap post for this series already, and my posts on Bakemonogatari is just adding to the whole cluster of them, but this is for me, and hey, my blog, so w/e~

aoihana

Aoi Hana

homg GL SERIES THAT DOESN’T HAVE STUPID FANSERVICE FOR BOYS TO GET OFF ON. *is shot* Sorry, I just, the occasional fanservice I can handle, but it always annoyed me that a lot of the GL anime I’ve checked out always made me feel like they were just catering to guys with all those useless boob and panty shots. I always wanted a GL anime that concentrated more on like, the love story than just the girls posing around in various sexy positions and fanservice with no proper storyline. But yes, back to the actual anime: I love how quiet and atmospheric the whole show is like so far, and I love how the feelings of love are being explored. It would have been really easy for this to just be a Fumi angstfest but it wasn’t! The director of this anime just gives us scenes and shows how Fumi reacts to it without gratuitous inner monologue of d00m, and I love it. Am definitely following.

ywgm

Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou

Wah, Ep. 00 made me all addicted and rooting for the cast~ I mean, I even decided on my ship for this series! (Misa/Yumiko, btw) I’m not sure about where the actual plot is going so far, but I’m completely in love with the cast and Koyomi’s pan summoning magic, and will definitely stick around to the bitter end. Yaddy yadda, yes I realize it’s pretty much your standard mahou shoujo series, but I like how they poke at it and reimagine it into either modern magic (where magic becomes analogous to computer programming, lulz) and how the magic spells are reasoned out. ‘sides, Ep. 00 was really really funny and I can always appreciate a good comedy. =D

Pages: 1 2 3

4 Responses to “Summer Anime 2009 – Watchlist & First Impressions”


  1. 1 Veldril July 12, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    As a VN reader of Umineko, I would say that the anime will get better after the 6th episode. So far we can say that this is the introductory part of Umineko (yes, even the killing of those 6 people). From 6th episode onward, you will start to see why Umineko has a very good story and large fanbase, even though the original Visual Novel does not have very good graphic.

    • 2 wingstodust July 12, 2009 at 11:02 pm

      Ehh, I have to sit through 6 episodes just to wait for it to get better??? No thanks, I’ll spend those two hours on something else. I’m sure the show must have its appeal and good points, since the fanbase is so large. But it’s just not for me.

  2. 3 Sapphire Pyro July 18, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Bakemonogatari is epic xD (we have a similar top series again =3 *remembered natsume yuujinchou*)

    I watch it raw AND subbed . . . then blog after subs. I think it’s better to talk about it if you understand what’s going on xD

    Aoi Hana . . . I can’t stand Fumie. Absolute eyesore. I can’t.

    The Mahou show . . . to my surprise, I liked it. I hate the blue haired girl though. But I like the white haired one, and I wish she and the guy are a pairing xD

    As for sora no manimani, oh well, tastes differ ^^;

    umineko, ah well, you know my bias reasons for it xD

    the other I haven’t seen . . .yet

    (I’m also the other Sapphire Pyro, I jsut forgot to log-in to my wordpress account ^^;)

    • 4 wingstodust July 19, 2009 at 1:12 pm

      lol, like, the villain paired with Yumiko!? Erm, I have a hard time imagining that, but hey, whatever floats your boat~

      lol, with Sora no Manimani, it’s like K-ON! from last season all over again. The world loves it, but I can’t take it at all.

      Try Taisho Yakyuu Musume! Viola-Canina has the best of tastes. Also, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 has the most amazing episode 2 EVAR. <333


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


